Most Social Security Judges are decent and behave professionally.

However, there a few who behave badly.

They may have had a bad day.

They may have a power complex.

Some judges act stern.

A few tips for dealing with these type of judges.

If the Judge yells at you, then respond politely but firmly “I am sorry your honor, but I am trying to answer your question as best as I can. I will treat you with respect. Please treat me with respect. This is a very difficult time for me and my family while dealing with my illness.”

If the Judge lectures you, wait till he is finished and respond nicely. “I am sorry to have offended you. I was trying to answer your question. Maybe I misunderstood. I often lose concentration due to my ongoing pain.”

If the Judge accuses you of lying, answer with dignity. “I may have weighed 20 pounds less a year ago. My focus has been on dealing with the unrelenting pain the last 12 months.” Or, “I have been in drug and alcohol treatment since telling the doctor I fell off the wagon in deep hole 2 years ago. I am clean now, thank the Lord.”

Questions about your Social Security Disability case? Feel free to contact Illinois Social Security Disability Lawyer Dirk May at 309-827-4371.

